Has God ever told you to cut the crap?


I tend to over analyze.

My first reaction is to tear things apart when I can’t seem to make something to work or if plans are not coming to fruition quick enough for me. I get into a vicious cycle of becoming a little too focused on the minutia and lose track of the big picture. I get tangled up in things that don’t matter

I even carry that over into my prayers. I try to cover every basis, every detail, as if I need to lay it out very clearly and plainly in order for God  to process the request. Sometimes I feel if I haven’t thought of everything to ask then God won’t answer my prayer.

I had reached that phase of the vicious cycle again this afternoon when the craziest thing happened  while I was slicing an apple. For some reason that simple act of slicing an apple held my attention while I was praying to God about things out of my control. I was trying to keep track of all the things I needed God to take care of but my attention was continually distracted by this darn apple.

And then I heard Him say, “just cut the crap , and keep it simple.”

You may hear God speak in the King James Version but I hear Him speak raw, organic truth. That truth for me always comes back to trusting to be who He says He is, what He is going to do.

Has your faith become too complicated?

Do you need to return to a simple, child-like faith?

Like me, do you need to cut the crap?

Matthew 18:1-5 At about the same time, the disciples came to Jesus asking, “Who gets the highest rank in God’s kingdom?”

 2-5For an answer Jesus called over a child, whom he stood in the middle of the room, and said, “I’m telling you, once and for all, that unless you return to square one and start over like children, you’re not even going to get a look at the kingdom, let alone get in. Whoever becomes simple and elemental again, like this child, will rank high in God’s kingdom. What’s more, when you receive the childlike on my account, it’s the same as receiving me. 

It's good talking with you.

