Posted in Thinking out loud

4 Things I’m Thankful I Don’t Have


Do you remember that old Garth Brooks song, “Thank God for Unanswered Prayer” ? I can still relate to that song. I live a freakishly blessed life. I have so much to be thankful for. I have lived with and I have lived without material, physical, and spiritual blessings. Today I’m thinking about the things in this life that I don’t have that I’m thankful for.

1. I’m thankful I don’t have excessive debt.

It still comes across as anomoly when it comes up in discussion. Just like tanning beds and cigarettes I’m still amazed that debt is viewed as an acceptable standard of living. I have 2 decent cars, a decent house, a closet full of Payless shoes and Target clothes. Sometimes choosing to live below our means feels limiting but I’m extremely thankful for the freedom it truly allows.

2. I’m thankful I don’t have have chronic disease.

This may sound self-centered and like I don’t care for those that do have to deal daily with disease but it’s quite the opposite. My family history is a little frightening. My genetic disposition for cancer, heart disease, diabetes, and auto-immune disorders is always in the back of my mind. I’m thankful for now I can eat reasonably well, exercise fairly often, and live a lifestyle not limited by disease.

3.I’m thankful I don’t have jerk husband and perfect children.

Again, kind of like cigarettes and tanning beds, I can’t believe we still live in an age where husbands and fathers get away with not taking care of the house or bathing children. I love it that my DH doesn’t wait for me to ask him to do household chores. He actually uses his eyes and brain to see what needs to be done and just does it. Can I tell you how much I adore my mother in law for raising him right? I’m grateful my kids struggle in school, get in fights with each other, talk back to me, and are not athletic wonders. I’m thankful that are already grounded individuals who are aware of their realistic blessed abilities and have no aspiration to play professional sports.

4. I’m thankful I don’t have a religiously, ridiculously little g God.

The other 3 things would have no value without this one. My God is so big. So much bigger than I can imagine or even allow sometimes. I’m thankful for grace, and grace, and more grace. I’m thankful for my Abba Father who is so incredibly powerful to handle me if I was in over my head in debt, scared out of my mind while fighting cancer, or dealing with a failed marriage. I’m thankful for my heavenly Father who is man enough to love me through my sin and outright disobedience. I’m thankful for my Father God who richly blesses me whether I recognize it or not.

I know your thinking about turkey, football, and dealing with Aunt Madge today. But I’m sure you’re thinking about your blessings today as well. I’d love to hear what your top 3 blessings are. Happy Thanksgiving!

 

Author:

I help people and organizations get unstuck. I prefer to avoid the muck as well. Whether in personal lives, organizations, business leaders, or parents I pose suggestions to keep everyone moving forward.

One thought on “4 Things I’m Thankful I Don’t Have

  1. Happy Turkey Day!

    That is good ‘stuff’ing. We gourge ourselves on Thanksgiving Day w/ tons of food but more importantly we should feed our spirit with the grace, love, and acceptance you write about. I am grateful for you and all my friends but in particular:

    1} A Savior who vetoes any President or Dictator or any earthly force with a blink.
    2} The love of children. There is nothing more pure but for #1. As adults we can steal it or build it up. May you continue paying into your children’s love bank account.
    3} Joy FM – What a gift to this city. With social media and radio changing we truly could transform things away from Ryan Seacrest and “celebrity dirt,” towards more God-like and healing the hurt.

    See you at the mountain top!

    check out my blog @ http://www.kyletheloanguy.blog.com

It's good talking with you.

