Posted in Thinking out loud

Hospitals suck


Last time I was in this particular hospital with my daughter Emma she was also trying to give me a heart attack. She had decided to forego any more medical drama and be born six weeks early. At 6 lbs 10 oz. She had a few feeding issues and she couldn’t hold her temperature. She left the hospital before me.
Today she stood up from physical therapy and immediately grabbed her head and went back down. My stomach lurched to my throat. She’s not without some medical issues. She has a form of arthritis, scoliosis, and still struggles with circulatory issues. But I didn’t know what was happening because
she’s tough.
And rarely cries.
She was in so much immediate pain she started hyperventilating.
I’ve spent the last 4 hours mad at the staff here and very much trying to stay in control for her. Is there a worse feeling of seeing your baby writhe in pain and not be able to do anything about it?
However, You’re given perspective when your child’s prognosis has a timeline. We finally get her meds and in a matter of hours she’s back to normal. I thought many times today that even though they stuck her four times for the IV she doesn’t need that IV past today. No cancer treatments. No surgeries.
I’m thankful.
I’m ready to leave. I want to hug my son for praying so gently over his sister today. We’re missing Christmas with DHs family so Im missing homemade crab Rangoon and sweet and sour pork. I hate hospitals. But I’m so thankful my daughter is ok, sleeping peacefully, and tomorrow is a new day.

Author:

I help people and organizations get unstuck. I prefer to avoid the muck as well. Whether in personal lives, organizations, business leaders, or parents I pose suggestions to keep everyone moving forward.

It's good talking with you.

