I’m a blubbering mess.


I know you’ve done the same thing.

I’m sitting in my living room surrounded by the dreaded sock basket, cup of coffee in hand, favorite movie is going, and the kids are playing swords in the backyard.

And you become overwhelm with joy and you start bawling.

It’s ok. You don’t have to verbally admit it. We’ve all been there. 

Like I am right now. And if you are like me you quickly move to being astutely aware of every miniscule thing you’ve been blessed with. The sound of the washing machine, dishwasher, and shower running simulatneously. The aroma of breakfast in the oven and coffee brewing while the pantry and fridge are still overflowing. The gentle breeze of the ceiling fans that could easily be turned off for heat or air-conditioned air. At this moment, it is possible every light is on in my house. I’m sensitive to the steady pulse in my wrist and the ease of the inhale and exhale of my lungs. 

I have 3 children blessed with fabulous minds and fit bodies. They are beautiful creations beyond my imagination. I have an incredible husband who is completely surrendered to us by providing and caring for us and loving us unconditionally. I can drive anywhere today in one of two perfectly capable automobiles. I have access to any level of education and information through my flipping phone. I cannot keep track of the medical and dental appointments I have but barely have to pay for. As much as I don’t understand our government, I experience such a level of freedom that if I wanted to I could completely bash them and their leader and no harm would come of me. 

I’m thankful for the legacy of my ancestors, for the love of grandparents, aunts, and uncles. I’m grateful for parents who did and still try to do the best with what information and skills they have. I’m thankful for the faith community, social services, and general do-gooders who make life easier. I am blessed with dear friends along this path who ebb in and out of my life at the most beautiful times. 

The list could go on for years. 

My greatest blessing is the enduring love of my Heavenly Father. 

I’m a blubbering mess. I am blessed beyond measure. 

Will you share your blessings with me today? How are you overwhelmed with gratitude? 

2 thoughts on “I’m a blubbering mess.

  1. Awe yes…I understand the tears. Today while cleaning we came across pictures of my kids from years past. And then my son tries on his cap & gown for geaduation. Thanking the Lord for such amazing children!!

  2. I loved this. I so relate. The blessings I’m thankful for today are my family and friends who love and care about me so much…and who bring me such joy and laughter, and sometimes cry along with me. Mostly, like you, for my God whose infinite love and mercy overwhelms me. I’m thankful for what he’s going to make out of this ‘often a mess’ me. I’m 55…supposedly a grown up. 🙂 But still very much reliant on my heavenly Father to hold my hand and gently guide me. I suspect that will never change. And at the moment I’m thankful for the smile on my face…brought there by you and your blog, helping me remember all the things I’m thankful for!

    Blessings,
    Anne

It's good talking with you.