Posted in Thinking out loud

Please don’t tell me to stand still


I didn’t wake up very rested this morning. Which usually means I was doing battle in my head all night. And because of a certain word tattoed on my mind’s eye this morning I think I was wrestling with God, *sigh again.

STAND

This is one of the worst things in the world you can say to me. To be told to “stand over here and wait, or stand on the sidelines, you’re on stand by”  just makes me want to jump out of my skin. I don’t want to just stand around doing nothing. I need to move. Life is short. I can’t just stand around waiting for things to happen.

Especially in this season of my life of trying to create something from nothing the bulldozer side of me is aching to get out. I’m holding back every natural order within me that if something needs built or created, you put your head down, and keep moving forward until it’s done.  Their are literally lives at stake here. I need to take a stand for innocent lives and social justice. I don’t need to stand around waiting for somebody else to do what I’ve seen. I need to fight, and battle to see this mission to completion. But that’s not what God is speaking to me.

15 He said: “Listen, King Jehoshaphat and all who live in Judah and Jerusalem! This is what the LORD says to you: ‘Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s.16 Tomorrow march down against them. They will be climbing up by the Pass of Ziz, and you will find them at the end of the gorge in the Desert of Jeruel. 17You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your positions; stand firm and see the deliverance the LORD will give you, Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Go out to face them tomorrow, and the LORD will be with you.'”

Why I try to convince God that he doesn’t understand me is a mystery to both He and I. I’ve had this incorrect vision in my head of standing being a static position. Almost like loafing, or someone just holding up a wall. This scripture that God gave me is just the opposite. He is telling me to take my position. He’s giving me permission to get ready, to make the preparations, to build the relationships, to raise the money, to cast the vision, to gather the troops and the supplies for the so-called battle.

He’s telling me to stand to be ready to move on His direction. But He’s also reminding me this is His plan. I didn’t come up with this on my own. The idea of Sparrow wasn’t something I just dreamed up. He has been building this desire, this passion, this road for me and many others. He’s in charge and He will see this through to completion.

God isn’t telling me to stand still,

He’s telling me to stand at attention

And I am. I feel poised at the river’s edge ready to step in when He tells me it’s the right time. I’m standing in surrender and obedience to Him.

Are you standing at attention while God fights the battles in your life? How have you found standing helps you prepare?

Author:

I help people and organizations get unstuck. I prefer to avoid the muck as well. Whether in personal lives, organizations, business leaders, or parents I pose suggestions to keep everyone moving forward.

6 thoughts on “Please don’t tell me to stand still

  1. Thank you for this! I love that song so much…such a beautiful worship song. As for me, I don’t feel like I’m standing…but I guess I am…standing on his promises and waiting for Him, trusting that He will take care of me the way He has promised…knowing without a doubt that He is merciful and that He loves me. I’m sometimes more ‘on my face’ than ‘standing’, I think. 🙂 But not in a way that I used to be, where there was doubt there. There is weariness at times, but never doubt as to whether He cares. He makes us wait longer than our comfort zones like sometimes I have found. 🙂 But I’ve learned even with that, that He is faithful and I trust that whatever He’s doing will be good…even if it doesn’t feel so good at some particular moment.

    Blessings!
    Anne

    1. Isn’t it interesting when we let go of timelines, of like, “I’ve been waiting a long time.”? That’s been a particular area of growth for, of keeping my eyes on God instead of the calendar.

      1. That’s true! Joseph in the Bible had to wait what…20 years, being sold into slavery by his brothers and still remaining faithful? It doesn’t say how long Job waited. David pleaded with God in the Psalms so many times, overwhelmed with troubles…but remained faithful throughout. God is faithful…but it is in His time, as much as I’d like Him to hurry sometimes. 🙂

  2. Great post.

    Ephesians 6 tells us “and having done all, to stand, Stand therefore”

    This implies that “Standing”, when The Lord uses it is a verb. It implies action on our part to a point. We do all we can, then The Lord takes over……

It's good talking with you.

