We are not alone, the Lord God is in our midst.


The Mad Hatter: Have I gone mad?
Alice Kingsley: I’m afraid so. You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.

Part of my life feels like all the oddities in Alice in Wonderland. Drinking potions to grow too tall, shrink too small and have everything in constant topsy turvy.  I’m never quite sure which way is up and out.

Alice: It would be so nice if something would make sense for a change.

It’s incredibly disturbing and exhausting. I can be moved from normal life to despair of the unknown with a phone call or email. The enveloping darkness of fear can easily over take me. There does not seem to be an end in sight.

But I do not lose hope, and though I may momentarily lose my focus I can return to it with these scripture. I hope these are a blessing to you. When mental illness affects a family it is easy to feel isolated and alone. I would love to hear scripture that gives you hope and draws you back into the light as well.

Bible Verses on Hope

2 Corinthians 4:16-18  So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

Romans 5:2-5 Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

Romans 12:12  Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.

Psalm 27:4-5 One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple.  For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent; he will lift me high upon a rock.

Mark 5:35-36  While he was still speaking, there came from the ruler’s house some who said, “Your daughter is dead. Why trouble the Teacher any further?” But overhearing what they said, Jesus said to the ruler of the synagogue, “Do not fear, only believe.”

Zephaniah 3:17 The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.

It's good talking with you.

