Posted in Thinking out loud

Mothers Day: A scar that strengthens the wound


My mother passed away when I was 12 and up until recently I really think I thought it would be something I would get over, that the emptiness would fade, that the hurt would disappear. I’m getting a better understanding that her death is part of my brokenness, it’s a scar that strengthens the wound to enable that part of me to be used again.

Mothers Day has always been a tough day. I wake up each year thinking I’m tougher, I’m stronger, and that there are no more reasons to grieve. But each year I cry and hurt and don’t want to get out of bed.

God blessed me with a memory this morning to help get through the day with a little more of my mom in me. One of my first solos in church was the song “May The Road Rise To Meet You.” I remember my mother was so excited for me that night and bought me tiny gold earrings shaped like birds to mark the event. She loved this song especially since its an old Irish blessing. Funny thing was my mother was tone deaf but she is who put a song in my heart.

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,
may God hold you in the palm of His hand.

I’m holding on dearly to these lyrics today to remind me of course that God is always with me. But today as the wind blows, the sun warms, and the rain may fall my mother is also still gently holding me in her hand until I see her again.

Do you have songs that remind you of your mom?

Author:

I help people and organizations get unstuck. I prefer to avoid the muck as well. Whether in personal lives, organizations, business leaders, or parents I pose suggestions to keep everyone moving forward.

One thought on “Mothers Day: A scar that strengthens the wound

  1. Thinking of you today. I always think of my Mother when I hear songs like “Love Me Do.”
    Whenever I hear the hymn “Have No Fear, Little Flock” I am reminded of Ellie. It is for her who my tears fall for today and every Mothers’ Day. Peace and joy for your day.

It's good talking with you.

